In commemoration of the scientific achievements of Karl Weissenberg, performed in several European countries, the European Society of Rheology (ESR) decided in 1997 to create a “Weissenberg Award” for outstanding, long-term achievements in the field of rheology. Eligible are rheologists whose centre of scientific activities lies in Europe. The award is bestowed biannually.

The 2015 Weissenberg Award recipient of the European Society of Rheology is Professor Dimitris Vlassopoulos, an eminent rheologist based at FORTH and the University of Crete, Heraklion, Greece and a founding member and past president of HSR.