The 6th Hellenic Society of Rheology conference took place in Athens, Greece on 28-29 June 2011 at the Demokritos Congress Center, by the foothills of Mount Hymettus in suburban Athens. The conference started with registration on Tuesday morning, 28 June 2011 and ended on Wednesday afternoon, 29 June 2011. The chair of the organizing commitee was Evan Mitsoulis, who was also elected at the meeting as the new president of our society.
The Conference was attended by 26 delegates mainly from Greece and Cyprus, although some foreign speakers also participated. It included 2 plenary lectures. The scientific papers were presented in 5 major themes.

  • rheology and rheometry
  • structure and dynamics of polymers
  • colloids and suspensions
  • molecular modelling
  • numerical simulations

A total number of 27 papers were given, all oral. The Plenary lectures were given by:

  • Prof. Dimitris Vlassopoulos of the University of Crete and IESL, FORTH, Greece, entitled “Structure and Viscoelasticity of Fluorocarbons at the Air/Water Interface” and
  • a young and promising Prof. Yannis Dimakopoulos of the University of Patras, Greece, entitled “Hemodynamics of the Aortic Valve: Numerical Simulation and Open Issues”.

A highlight of HSR-2011 was the banquet, which took place on Tuesday night, 28 June 2011, in a nearby taverna with entertainment provided by the older generation of Greek rheologists reminiscing about past high and low points of rheology.

Organising Committee

  • E. Mitsoulis (Chair), Athens
  • V. Mavrantzas, Patras
  • N. Pelekasis, Volos
  • G. Petekidis, Heraklion
  • D. Theodorou, Athens
  • J. Tsamopoulos, Patras
  • Ch. Tsenoglou, Athens
  • D. Vlassopoulos, Heraklion

Scientific Committee

  • A. Gotsis (Chair), Greece
  • A.Alexandrou, Cyprus
  • A. Beris, USA
  • G. Georgiou, Cyprus
  • S. Hatzikiriakos, Canada
  • V. Mavrantzas, Greece
  • E. Mitsoulis, Greece
  • D. Theodorou, Greece
  • J. Tsamopoulos, Greece
  • D.Vlassopoulos, Grece