The Third International Conference of the Hellenic Society of Rheology (HSR) took place in Patras, Greece, June 10-14, 2001.

The Conference was a special one, since it was dedicated to Professor Andreas Acrivos, one of the most influential chemical engineers of the last 50 years, on the occasion of his retirement from the City College of the City University of New York, where he held the A. Einstein Chair at the Levich Institute. Professor Acrivos’ research interests lie in the general areas of Applied Mathematics, Newtonian and non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics, Transport Phenomena and, currently, in the rheology of concentrated suspensions and the study of the effective properties of two-phase materials. He has published more than 180 papers in well-reputed journals, and has graduated a large number of Ph.D. students who, in their majority, have become leading scientists and engineers. His academic family includes more than 400 members. He has received a number of distinguished awards, which include election to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and the U.S. Academy of Arts and Sciences..

The meeting was attended by over 100 participants, out of which 30 were former students of Professor Acrivos or members of his academic family. They had been invited by the HSR and participated in the Conference with invited talks. The program included also plenary lectures, oral presentations and a poster session, on topics which covered all areas of the general theme of Rheology: Polymer melts and solutions, colloids and suspensions, molecular modeling and simulations, and experimental, theoretical, and computational fluid dynamics. A complete list of participants, as well as the final program of the Conference is posted. The Abstracts of the presentations given in the Conference were compiled in a Book, which is also posted. Extended versions of some of the papers presented in the Conference have been published in a special issue of the Journal of Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics (JNNFM, Vol. 102, Issue 2, 2002). The Organizing and Scientific Committees of the Conference are grateful to Professor Ken Walters, editor of JNNFM, for providing this opportunity in honor of Professor Acrivos.

In addition to the Scientific Program, the Social Program was also interesting. This included a tour to the Archaeological Site of Olympia, a reception by the ICE/HT-FORTH, and the Formal Conference Dinner on June 13th, where HSR and Professor Acrivos celebrated his birthday. During the Conference, commemorative plaques were awarded to Professor Acrivos by the President of HSR and chair of the Conference, Professor John Tsamopoulos. Gifts were also presented to Professor Acrivos by the HSR and friends of his. Photos in memory of these occasions are posted in this web site.

Refereed versions of some of the papers presented in the 3rd HSR International Conference were published in a special volume of the Journal of Non-Newtonian Fluid Mechanics (JNNFM, Vol. 102, Issue 2, 2002) dedicated to Prof. Andreas Acrivos, featuring a guest editorial by Profs. J. Tsamopoulos and D. Vlassopoulos.

Organizing Committee

  • V. Mavrantzas (Chairman), Patras
  • E. Mitsoulis, Athens
  • A. Payatakes, Patras
  • N. Pelekasis, Patras
  • D. Theodorou, Patras
  • J. Tsamopoulos, Patras
  • D. Vlassopoulos, Heraklion

Scientific Committee

  • J. Tsamopoulos (Chairman), Greece
  • A. Beris, USA
  • G. Georgiou, Cyprus
  • S. Hatzikiriakos, Canada
  • L.G. Leal, USA
  • V. Mavrantzas, Greece
  • E. Mitsoulis, Greece
  • S. Nychas, Greece
  • A. Payatakes, Greece
  • D. Theodorou, Greece
  • D. Vlassopoulos, Greece

The Symposium was supported by:

  • University of Patras
  • Ministry of Education
  • Ice/Ht-Forth
  • Technical Chamber of Greece (Tee)
  • National Technical University of Athens (Ntua)
  • Ministry of Culture
  • Lamaplast
  • Prefecture of Western Greece
  • Coca-Cola (3e)
  • Ari Ltd
  • Karatzi (Hellasnet)
  • Mornos
  • Interchem
  • Plastikodynamiki Ltd
  • Chemland Co
  • Novacta Ltd
  • Souris Ltd
  • Plastika Ferror